Kevin Bednar '16

Major: Computer Science
Hometown:Parma, OH

I like that Computer Science is a challenging major that forces you to think outside the box and from a different perspective than many other majors.

Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Calendars

Undergraduate

Summer Session 2016

Summer I May 9-27 No class on Memorial Day 3 weeks
Summer II May 31 - July 22 8 weeks

 

Fall Semester 2016

August 19-21 Fri-Sun Fall Orientation
August 22 Monday First day of classes
August 26 Friday Last day to drop without ‘W’
September 5 Monday Labor Day, Classes not in session
October 13 Thursday
Final Exam Day for First Half Semester Courses Only* (see below)
October 14 Friday Last day to change from Credit to ‘S/U’
October 14 Friday Fall Break, Classes not in session
October 17 Monday Fall Break, Classes not in session
October 18 Tuesday All Classes operate on Monday Schedule
October 31 Monday Last day to withdraw with a 'W' - full semester courses
November 11 Friday Last day to petition to change an exam
November 22 Tuesday Thanksgiving recess begins at 11 p.m.
November 28 Monday Classes resume
December 9 Friday Last day of classes
December 11 Sunday Reading Day
December 12-16 Mon-Fri Final exam period
December 16 Friday Semester ends at 11 p.m.
     
*Eight-week classes: August 22 – October 13 
October 18 – December 9
Last day to drop without 'W' August 26 October 24
Last day to withdraw with grade of ‘W’  September 23 November 18

 

Spring Semester 2017

January 9 Monday First day of classes
January 13 Friday Last day to drop without ‘W’
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Classes not in session
March 2 Thursday Final Exam Day for First Half Semester Courses Only* (see below)
March 3 Friday Last day to change from Credit to ‘S/U’
March 3 Friday Spring recess begins
March 13 Monday Classes resume
March 27 Monday Last day to withdraw with a "W" - full semester courses
April 7 Friday Last day to petition to change an exam
April 14 Friday Good Friday, classes not in session
April 25 Tuesday SCHOLAR Day/Honors Convo (classes resume at 6 p.m.)
May 3 Wednesday Last day of classes - ALL classes operate on a Friday schedule
May 4 Thursday Reading Day (finals begin at 6 p.m.)
May 4-9 Thur-Tue Final exam period (begins 6 p.m. on Thursday - No Sunday a.m. exams)
May 9 Tuesday Semester ends at 11 p.m.
May 13 Saturday Commencement
     
*Eight-week classes: January 9 – March 2
March  13 – May 3
Last day to withdraw without 'W' January 13 March 17
Last day to withdraw with grade of ‘W’  February 10 April 13

 

Graduate

Summer Graduate Term

May 16 Monday Classes Begin
May 30 Monday No Classes
July 4 Monday No Classes
August 5 Friday Classes End

 

Fall Semester 2016

August 29 Monday Classes Begin
September 5 Monday No Classes (Labor Day)
November 23-25 Wed-Fri No Classes (Thanksgiving Recess)
December 9 Friday Classes End
December 12-16 Mon-Fri Exam Week

 

Spring Semester 2017

January 9 Monday Classes Begin
January 16 Monday No Classes (MLK Day)
March 6-10 Mon-Fri No Classes (Spring Recess)
April 14 Friday No Classes (Good Friday)
April 28 Friday Classes End
May 1-5 Mon-Fri Exam Week
May 13 Saturday Commencement
To The Top!