Center for Student Success to Receive Award

August 14, 2014

ALLIANCE, Ohio – The University of Mount Union has been selected to share in the 2014 Academic Affairs Awards presented by The Washington Center. Three universities, two college administrators, one state system and a non-profit organization will participate.

On behalf of the University, Rebecca Doak, executive director of the Center for Student Success and Career Development, and Sara Fugett, director of Career Development, will accept the National Liaisons of the Year Award during The Washington Center’s annual awards luncheon in Washington, D.C. at the National Press Club on September 29.

The award recognizes the consistent and exceptional support of organizations, colleges and universities and their staff to experiential education through their dedicated partnership with The Washington Center.

“This entire group is a shining example of higher education institutions, educators and organizations that are placing a priority on experiential learning and each of the honorees have personally impacted the lives of hundreds of students,” said Mike Smith, president of The Washington Center. “Rebecca and Sara are true leaders within the academic community and we congratulate them on this honor.”

Doak and Fugett will accept the award on The University of Mount Union’s behalf.

“It is an honor and a privilege for Sara and I to be named National Liaisons of the Year,” said Doak. “We look forward to many more years of collaborating with TWC.”

“Our work with The Washington Center is its own reward,” said Doak. “Students who intern in Washington, D.C. come back to campus changed and empowered, having developed an exciting professional network. Interns return with a deep appreciation for experiential education and the diversity of our nation’s capital. We enjoy hearing their stories, whether about their actual internship position, a prestigious contact they made, an opportunity or door that has been opened or just making new friends with interns from around the world.”

Other 2014 Academic Affairs Awards will go to the Bipartisan Policy Center, University of Dayton, Robert Morris University, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and Senator Anitere Flores and Representative Erik Fresen of Florida.

About The Washington Center

The Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars is an independent, nonprofit organization that serves hundreds of colleges and universities in the United States and other countries by providing selected students challenging opportunities to work and learn in Washington, D.C. for academic credit.  The largest program of its kind, The Washington Center has more than 50,000 alumni who have become leaders in numerous professions and nations around the world.  It was established in 1975.


To The Top!