Concert Choir to Perform in Concert Series

February 26, 2013

ALLIANCE, Ohio—The University of Mount Union Concert Choir is scheduled to perform at the esteemed Five at Five concert series on Sunday, March 3 at Westminster Presbyterian Church in Akron, Ohio.

The Mount Union Concert Choir will be the third group to perform in the series with the previous two groups having performed in September and November, respectively.

"This is a great opportunity for the choir,” said Dr. Grant Cook, director of the Mount Union Concert Choir and director of choral activities at the University. “I’m very excited Mount Union was given the chance to perform in such a prestigious series.”

The choir will perform 10 songs at the concert, including nontraditional pieces in languages such as Latin, Spanish and South African.

“The Five at Five concert series is a family-oriented musical event,” said Cook. “The concerts are early enough that families can come enjoy music for an hour and still have time, once they leave, to go out and enjoy dinner together.”

This will be the second time Cook has directed a choir at the concert series and the first time Mount Union will perform in the series.

The University of Mount Union Concert Choir is among the oldest collegiate choirs in the United States, tracing its roots to 1896. Serving as an ambassador of the University, the Concert Choir performs annually throughout the continental United States and undertakes an international tour every four years.

Students from the choir cover 25 academic majors across all class levels. Participating students are freshmen Erin Bell, Sarah Briggs, Matt Gorman, Daniel Kravchenko, Tyler Portner, Cody Raga, Jacob Rogers, Natalie Ricciutti, Jenna Scurich, Haley Walls, Tony Walsh, Theresa Waseity and Jenna Waterman, sophomores Mark Amabeli, Victoria Blankenship, Maya Brown, Kacey Cooper, Rebecca Mann, Amanda Myhal, Taylor Nervo, Brianna Searing, Jana Sleutz, Courtney Wachal and Jacob Ward, juniors Sean Andrews, Ian Bell, Cresslyn DiRosa, Kimberly Dorka, Sean Eppler, Alex Garner, Bethany Herman, Joyanna Hoffman, Ian LeRoy, Erin Miller, Krissy Morton, Jesse Phillips, Andrew Whitman, Keith Wilson and seniors Matt Amabeli, Ryan Chinrock, Kyle Crowley, Kyle Edwards, Jessica Kostrab, Kenny Leep, Stephanie Porten, Jeff Slater, Josh Sleutz, Megan Smith and Kelsey Tomlinson.

Admission to the concert is free, and the event will take place at 1250 W. Exchange St. For more information, contact Mount Union’s Department of Music at (330) 823-2180.

To The Top!