Deportation of Illegal Immigrants is Topic for Intercollegiate Debate

April 06, 2010

On November 13, Mount Union College held its first intercollegiate debate, including students from Ashland University and Walsh University.

The topic of debate was to resolve that all illegal immigrants must be deported and tight border security be maintained in order to maintain American national security and identity.

Students arguing for the resolution included Laurel Gibson, a junior early childhood education major of Solon; Gregory Reichart, a junior history major of Sharpsville, PA; Scott Lindsay, a sophomore of Canton; and Alexander Darr, a senior political science major of Port Clinton.

Students arguing against the resolution included Clint Leibold of Ashland University; Leland Spencer, a senior communication studies major of Massillon; Cody Combs of Walsh University; and Patrice Davis of Ashland University.

Dr. Patricia Draves, vice president of academic affairs and dean of the College, gave the welcome and opening remarks. Dr. Martin Horning, professor of business administration, economics and accounting, served as moderator.

Each side spoke in favor of or against the resolution, then had the opportunity to debate the issue as a group.

Speaking in favor of the resolution, Darr said, 'We need a balance between idealism and realism to settle this issue.'

Spencer spoke of the immorality of the issue saying, 'Exiling a child for having the wrong parents is immoral.'

Judges for the debate includes Mount Union faculty members Dr. Mary Eicholtz, assistant professor of communication; Dr. Clara Becerra, assistant professor of foreign languages; Robert Garland, director of libraries; Fendrich Clark, assistant professor of communication; Dr. Scott Gravlee, associate professor of philosophy and religious studies and Dr. Ernest Pratt, associate professor of education. Peter Yacobucci from Walsh University also served as a judge and Dr. Rodney Dick, assistant professor of English at Mount Union, served as chief judge and scorer.

First prize was awarded to Spencer, second prize was awarded to Reichart and third prize was awarded to Leibold.

The student debates, organized each semester by Dr. Santosh Saha, professor of history, have been held for the past fourteen years.

To The Top!