Dowling Mentors Selected at Mount Union College

April 06, 2010

The Dowling Mentor Program at Mount Union College has selected 36 students to act as mentors to middle and high school students from the Alliance area for the 2004-05 Academic Year.


The Dowling Mentor Program, now in its 19th year, is designed to enrich young students' lives by pairing them with mentors for tutoring and cultural, recreational and community service activities. Lorie Miller, director of the program, says that the Mount Union students who mentor benefit by developing leadership skills and learning the value of community service. The mentees are able to build self-esteem and improve their academic skills. Community service projects are an integral part of the Dowling Mentor Program. Enrichment activities include trips to the Cleveland Natural History Museum and parent-student banquets.

A kickoff dinner was held October 17, where the new students selected for the program were recognized. Special guests were Jack and Madge Peters, the donors for the program, and the new superintendent of Alliance City Schools, Steve Stohla. Following the dinner, the students and mentors participated in a variety of activities in Mount Union's Timken Physical Education Building.

The 2004-05 Dowling Mentors include sophomore Ashley Ambrosia of New Springfield; junior Nicholas Babic of Perry; senior Melissa Behr of New Castle, PA; senior Alicia Bishilany of Seven Hills; senior Christopher Blakely of Columbus; sophomore Megan Brunarski of Painesville; junior Megan Brunstetter of Cortland; freshman John Cleghorn of Canfield; junior Seth Corder of Dover; senior Beth Evans of Boardman; freshman Michael Evans of Boardman; junior Chrystal Farmer of North Waterford; sophomore Michele Fulena of New Castle, PA; junior Sarah Grimm of Steubenville; sophomore Danielle Haenel of Union City, PA; sophomore David Hradek of Wooster; freshman Marcus Jackson of Columbus; freshman Charlotte Johnson of Alliance; junior Anthony Jones of Youngstown; senior Magdalene 'Rose' Kamanga-Sollo of St. Paul, MN; sophomore Larissa Kramer of Canton; junior Chad Lively of Akron; junior Heather McGivern of Cleveland; junior Rachel Melnichenko of New Philadelphia; sophomore Kodey Miller of Salem; junior John Moenk of Brecksville; senior Matthew Mroczkowski of Dover; senior Jennifer Myers of Salem; freshman Ali Myslinski of Wintersville; junior Miranda Petersberger of Alliance, junior Sam Ranallo of Solon; junior Terra Roane of Fairlawn; junior Chase Ross of New Philadelphia; junior Matt Schuck of Vermilion; junior Jill Steiner of Canton; and senior Amanda Wildey of Fort Wayne, IN.

To The Top!