John Recchiuti Receives Fulbright Specialist Award

June 12, 2013

ALLIANCE, Ohio – University of Mount Union professor of history Dr. John Recchiuti received the Fulbright Specialists Award, giving him the opportunity to travel to Pakistan.

Recchiuti was selected by The United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board earlier this year on the basis of his academic and professional achievements. While in Pakistan, Recchiuti worked with both faculty and graduate students at Quaid i Azam University in Islamabad.

The Fulbright Specialists Program allowed over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals to travel abroad this year. This program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides two to six-week academic opportunities to standout faculty and professionals. It encourages curricular and faculty development, as well as institutional planning at post-secondary academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad during its 60 years of existence. More than 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields received Fulbright awards. Fulbright Scholar alumni include Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet. Notable Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University; Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research; and Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A&M University.

To The Top!