Larry Kehres Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame

December 04, 2017

Larry KehresNEW YORK, New York – On Tuesday, December 5th, the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame hosted its 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown with former University of Mount Union head football coach and current athletic director, Larry Kehres, as one of the inductees.

Founded in 1947, the NFF and College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people.

Other members of the class include Bob Crable, Marshall Faulk, Kirk Gibson, Matt Leinart, Peyton Manning, Bob McKay, Dat Nguyen, Adrian Peterson, Mike Ruth, Brian Urlacher, Danny Ford and Steve Spurrier. 

Kehres is in his 42nd year at Mount Union. He returned to his alma mater in 1974 as an assistant football coach and as the first head coach of the swimming program. In 1985, Kehres was named director of athletics and in 1986 he added head football coach duties, which he continued until 2013. Now, he acts as an associate professor of physical education. 

Under Kehres, the football team has won 23 Ohio Athletic Conference Championships (1986, 1990, 1992-2012) while posting 21 undefeated regular seasons (1986, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1995-2004, 2006-2012) and claiming 11 NCAA Division III National Championships (1993, 1996-1998, 2000-2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012). 

In total, Kehres’ career coaching record of 332-24-3 (.929) makes him one of only 10 coaches in the history of college football to win at least 300 games. 

For his efforts, he was named American Football Coaches Association Regional Coach of the Year a record 17 times, AFCA National Coach of the Year eight times, OAC Coach of the Year six times and in 2008 became the second-ever NCAA Division III winner of the Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year award.

Kehres has been an active member of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), serving on the board of directors and completing a term as AFCA president. He also lent his coaching talents to international competition in the summer of 2011 when he served as offensive coordinator for the U.S. National Football team as they won the gold medal in the World Championships in Austria.

To The Top!