M Club Inducts 2016 Hall of Fame Class

September 29, 2016

M Club HOF 2016Each year, the University of Mount Union M Club, the varsity letter winners association, is honored to induct a new class of deserving athletes into the Hall of Fame along with two special awards. This year’s inductees include Adrianne Cole ’01 (softball), Matt Domin ’01 (football), Adam Marino ’01 (football), Kenya Shipp ’00 (track and field), Gary Smeck ’01 (football) and Kelly (Roach ’01) Snyder (volleyball).

In addition, Harold Hall '49 received the Hugh Jae Award, an award recognizing M Club members who have distinguished themselves in service to the M Club. Stephanie Unckrich was made an honorary M Club member for her exemplary service and support of Mount Union athletics.

To be inducted into the Hall of Fame, a student-athlete must have earned a degree from Mount Union and received two letters in one sport, or one letter in two or more sports. "The record of the proposed inductee must be exemplary in both performance and in character,” said Tiffany Hogya, director of alumni relations and university activities. “There must be no question as to the deserving qualities that the inductee possesses." Those selected achieved high honors in their respective sport while at Mount Union and also support the ideals of good sportsmanship and high character

The annual M Club Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony took place on September 16 with eight individuals recognized and honored for their contributions to Mount Union athletics. Robert Atkinson, President of M Club, acknowledged why each were so deserving of this highest honor and presented a description of each of their athletic accomplishments. After being recognized in front of family, friends, coaches and fellow alumni, the inductees had an opportunity to express their gratitude for all of the support they received from family, teammates and coaches, plus the opportunities they continue to receive from being a part of the Mount Union community.

Larry Kehres, athletic director at Mount Union, addressed the group to end the ceremony. He first recognized his three former football players. “Their leadership, skill and work ethic along with many other talented individuals lead them to be champions,” said Kehres.  In addition to his former players, he highlighted the accomplishments of the three female athletes inducted that evening. “It’s hard to say that any one individual is the best athlete that a specific sport has ever seen,” said Kehres. “However, these three women still to this day hold individual records for their sports and are examples of what being the best is.” Kehres then highlighted the records that each woman received while in school and the dedication it took to achieving those statistics.

The University of Mount Union is honored to induct these outstanding student-athletes into the M Club Hall of Fame and present Hall and Unckrich with their prestigious awards. An M Club kiosk is located in the McPherson Academic and Athletic Complex (MAAC) with a list of all M Club Hall of Fame inductees.  Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2017 Hall of Fame class. Visit the alumni website for information and to download a nomination form.  Nominations are only accepted from current M Club members.

Click here to view a video of the M Club Hall of Fame half-time ceremony

To The Top!