Mentors Selected for the 2006-2007 Dowling Mentor Program

April 13, 2010

The Dowling Mentor Program at Mount Union College has selected 37 students to act as mentors to middle and high school students from the Alliance area for the 2006-07 Academic Year. They were among the individuals honored at a kick-off dinner Sunday.

The Dowling Mentor Program, now in its 21st year, is designed to enrich young students' lives by pairing them with mentors for tutoring and cultural, recreational and community service activities. Lorie Miller, director of the program, says that the Mount Union students who mentor benefit by developing leadership skills and learning the value of community service. The mentees are able to build self-esteem and improve their academic skills. Community service projects are an integral part of the Dowling Mentor Program. Enrichment activities include field trips to a number of locations and parent-student banquets.

Special guest Mason Seachrist, a Mount Union College alumnus and former mentor for the program, spoke at the kick-off dinner and parents' meeting on Sunday.

In addition, new seventh graders from Alliance City Schools were inducted into the program, including Corey Balderson, David Godsey, Franklin Hill, Trajan Napier, Rheanna Nicholson, Tabitha Sweitzer, Stephanie Wild and India Williams.

The 2006-07 Dowling Mentors include Ashley Ambrosia of New Springfield; Stephanie Ciciretto of Chagrin Falls; Ashley M. Cowoski of Perry; Kurt Davis of Dover; Willow Digiacomo of Minerva; Michael Evans of Boardman, Michael Fatigante of Washington, PA; Michele Fulena of New Castle, PA; Lareado Gray of Kent; Danielle Haenel of Corry, PA; Thomas Haic of Concord; Mallory Herman of Uniontown; David Hradek of Wooster; Marcus Jackson of Columbus; Larissa Kramer of Canton; Kelli Kranek of Strongsville; Brian Lane of Ocala, FL; Callie A. Livengood of Alliance; Brad Long of Akron; Timothy Lydon of Pittsburgh, PA; Nick Massella of Chardon; Nicole Mcllvain of Alliance; Luke Messner of Dalton; Jen Moreck of Brimfield; Amanda Muller of Strongsville; Ali Myslinski of Steubenville; Hattie Newman of Alliance; Candace Orth of Coventry; Theresa Pagano of Ashland; Matt Parnell of Green; Jared Potts of Senecaville; Ashley Ross of Canal Fulton; J. Chase Ross of New Philadelphia; Hannah Snyder of Cadiz; Connie Marie Whitehouse of Mentor; Jessica M. Wildey of Fort Wayne, IN; and Matt Zelasko of Independence.

To The Top!