Mount Union Chapter of Pi Kappa Lambda Presents Faculty Music Showcase

September 06, 2017

ALLIANCE, Ohio – On Sunday, September 10, the Theta Omicron Chapter of the Society of Pi Kappa Lambda will present a faculty artist showcase at 7:30 p.m. in Presser Recital Hall. 

The recital will begin with trumpet instructor David Duro and pianist Nancy Howenstine performing Charpentier’s “Prelude to Te Deum." The performance will also feature soprano Amanda-Joyce Abbott; oboist Betty Shultz; cellist Elaine Anderson; pianist Ian LeRoy; clarinetist James Perone; pianist Maira Liliestedt; pianist Janelle Phinney; flutist Janet Becker; pianist Brent Schloneger; euphoniumist Otis French; percussionist Jeffrey Neitzke, trombonist Thomas Pylinski, and violinist Bohdan Subchak. 

The faculty will perform pieces by a variety of artists including Joseph Bodin de Boismortier, Ennio Morricone, Camille Saint-Saëns, Ernesto Nazareth, Gustav Holst, Earl Hatch, Stjepan Šulek, and Henryk Wieniawski.

The concert is free and open to the public.

Pi Kappa Lambda was founded at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois in 1918, and in 1940 it was admitted as a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. It is the only college honor society in music, and its primary objective is the recognition and encouragement of the highest level of musical achievement and academic scholarship. 

The Theta Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Lambda at the University of Mount Union was chartered on April 29, 1997. Chapters of the Society extend membership invitations to the highest-ranking students from the junior and senior classes, and to faculty members who meet the regulations stated in the National Constitution. 

For more information, visit

To The Top!