Mount Union College Celebrates Alumni Weekend 2003

April 15, 2010

ALLIANCE, Ohio---Mount Union College welcomed back hundreds of alumni to campus for the weekend of June 6 - 8.

"The Place to Be" was the theme of this year's alumni weekend. Kicking off the events was the annual Alumni/M-Club Golf Scramble on Friday, June 6 at the Tannenhauf Golf Club, followed by the Golden Anniversary Luncheon for the Class of 1953 at the President's Home. The afternoon's events concluded with a Kick-Off Cookout on the Campus Grounds Patio at the Hoover-Price Campus Center (HPCC).

The Friday evening events included Greek gatherings for various fraternities and sororities and a "Welcome Back Reception," held at Roadhouse Charly's.

Saturday's events included a Heritage Club Breakfast in the Solarium of the HPCC. The National Cabinet of Mount Union Women held a meeting, where current president Amy Wheeler handed the gavel to incoming president Joy Bannish.

Dr. John L. Ewing, Jr., president of Mount Union College, presented "The State of Mount Union College," followed by the Alumni Luncheon in the Kresge Dining Commons of the HPCC. Alumni Association President Nancy Ashcom was mistress of ceremonies.

Special features included the recognition of the Alumni Service and McKinley Fellow Award recipients. The Alumni Service Awards represents the highest non-academic honor an alumnus/alumna can receive from Mount Union. This year's recipients were William Gough, Richard Ross and C. Richard Smith. The McKinley Fellow Awards honor a non-alumnus/alumna who has demonstrated significant involvement with the College above and beyond expectation. This year's recipients were Robert Mahoney and DeAnn Howell.

Dorothy Davis was honored at the luncheon with the announcement that the Alumni Service Award will be renamed the Dorothy J. Davis Alumni Service Award. Davis plans to retire after several decades of service to the College, most recently as director of alumni and college activities.

Also recognized at the luncheon were Constance Meacham, representing the class of 1925 and Dorothy Swallen Lamb, representing the class of 1931. Reggie Thomas was recognized as the incoming president of the Alumni Council.

The fraternities and sororities and the Black Cultural Center held open houses that afternoon. There was Adult Students Reunion at the Adult Studies Building and guided tours of Bracy Hall, the new science facility under construction.

Class reunions were held at various locations for the classes of 1928, 1933, 1938, 1943, 1948, 1953, 1958, 1963, 1968, 1973, 1978, 1983, 1988, 1993 and 1998. There was an Open House at the Home of the President. The annual Alumni Buffet was held that evening in the Kresge Dining Commons of the HPCC.

On Sunday, June 8, there was a meditation and memorial service at Dewald Chapel and a Farewell Brunch in the Kresge Dining Commons of the HPCC.

To The Top!