Mount Union College Holds Annual Greek Awards Ceremony

April 15, 2010

Seniors Karlye Rhodeback and John Muirhead-Gould were named Greek Woman and Man of the Year at the Mount Union College annual Greek Awards, held Wednesday, April 24 in the Mount Union College Theatre.

Karlye Rhodeback, from Lewisburg, PA, is a member of the Alpha Delta Pi sorority. She served as president of the sorority and is also a member of Order of Omega, Blue Key, and MUC Republicans. John Muirhead-Gould, from Canton, is a member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. Muirhead-Gould is a member of Blue Key, the Dynamo staff, Gamma Sigma Alpha, Alpha Phi Omega, Order of Omega and Dean's List.

Carrianne Tuckley, advisor to Delta Sigma Tau, was named Outstanding Advisor. Aaron Boley, a senior from Akron, of Sigma Alpha Epsilon and Sarah Edwards, a senior from Lockborne, of Delta Sigma Tau received awards for Fraternal Values, given to the sorority and fraternity members who most demonstrate the principles and ideals upon which their organization was founded.

Alpha Delta Pi and Alpha Chi Omega received the Gold Chapter Excellence with Academic Honors awards. The Gold Chapter Excellence Award went to Alpha Xi Delta.

Sigma Alpha Epsilon and Sigma Nu received the Silver Chapter Excellence Award and the Bronze Chapter Excellence Award went to Phi Kappa Tau, Alpha Tau Omega, Alpha Sigma Alpha and Delta Sigma Tau.

Delta Sigma Tau was given an award for having the most improved grade point average. The Highest New Member Grade Point Average awards were given to the Fall 2001 class of Alpha Sigma Alpha and the Fall 2001 class of Sigma Nu. The Highest Chapter GPA awards went to Alpha Chi Omega and Sigma Nu.

Chapter programming awards, which recognize a fraternity and sorority for outstanding programming within the chapter and the Greek community during the past year, went to Alpha Xi Delta and Sigma Nu.

Alpha Delta Pi and Sigma Alpha Epsilon were recognized with an award for recruitment excellence, given to those chapters who demonstrate creative and effective recruitment techniques.

The award for risk management, recognizing a fraternity and sorority for superior education and execution of risk management policies and procedures, went to Sigma Nu and Alpha Chi Omega.

New member education awards were given to Sigma Nu and Alpha Xi Delta for their New Member Education programs.

The award for campus leadership and involvement, which recognizes a fraternity and sorority whose members have been most involved outside of their own chapter, was given to Sigma Alpha Epsilon and Alpha Xi Delta.
Alpha Delta Pi and Sigma Alpha Epsilon received the award for community service, recognizing a fraternity and sorority for hands-on service to Mount Union College and the Alliance community.

Students were recognized for their involvement in Interfraternity Council, Panhellenic Council, Rho Chi and Greek Judicial Board. Chapter presidents were also recognized. Those individuals inducted into the College's chapter of Gamma Sigma Alpha, the national social fraternity and sorority academic honorary, were recognized as well.

Judges for the awards were Mark Blegen, Angie Bono-Severy, Tom Boyce, Rob DeVies, Andrew Dix, Larry Dordea, Mary Fisher, Pia Fitzgerald, Sara Fugett, Michelle Gaffney, Sue Goris, Corey Grubbs, Nikki Hensley, Jeri Johnston, Mark Locke, Kara Montgomery, Karen Petko, Doug Oblander, Janet Oprandi, Rick Sams, Mike Severy, Jay Sherer, Sara Sherer, Karen Teal, Diane Thomas and Linda Zepernick.

The ceremony was sponsored by the Greek Affairs Office and the College's Pi Omicron chapter of Order of Omega, the national Greek leadership honorary.

To The Top!