Mount Union College Holds Annual Senior Recognition and Honors Convocation

April 15, 2010

Mount Union College held its annual Senior Recognition and Honors Convocation on April 22 in the Mount Union Theatre.


The following students received awards: The Black Student Union Service Award to Ronald D. Reed, Jr. of Cleveland; The Arthur Dimit Prize to Eric R. Blinn of Massillon; The Doyle-Montagno Prize to Ella Mae Libster of Canton; The International Student Community Service Award to Kengo Shimokawa of Japan; The Laurie Kolenbrander Public Service Award to Christopher W. Blakely of Columbus; The James Michael Lombardi Scholarship to Paul J. Hlivko of Tallmadge; The Chris Schuh Award to Robert A. McDavid of Canal Winchester; The Dean Taylor Leadership Prize to Brent A. Bauknecht of Bay Village; The Tomsich Outstanding Junior or Senior Prize in Natural Science, Mathematics, and Computer Science to Stephanie S. Barille of Mayfield Heights, The Dean's Purchase Awards in Art to Chad M. Kurena of Alliance, Alexis M. Nile of Newell, WV, Erica Raby of Ashland, Drew W. Thornberry of Massillon, Renee R. Walker of Bexley and Cache G. Fross of Dover; The Mary Evelyn Cook Weber Prize to Cache G. Fross of Dover; The "Decade of Excellence" Prize to Zachary D. Bruney of Martins Ferry; The Marguerite "Peg" Lynn Freshman Award to Michael H. Jorris of Woodsfield; The Joseph Montgomery Leadership Prize to Kenneth D. Whitfield, Jr. of Strongsville; The Ken Wable Prize to Anthony L. Frate of Mentor and Shawn A. Spisak of Sagamore Hills; The Corl James Zimmerman Award to Ashley E. Bourdeau of Perry; The Biology Faculty Award to Alaina M. Mangun of Canton; The Dr. J and G.E. Brugger Pre-Med Award to M. Rose Kamanga-Solo of St. Paul, MN; The Alumni Chemistry Award to Lydia J. Bell of Garrettsville; The American Institute of Chemists Award to Melissa M. Clark of Canton; The Louis A. Pappenhagen Prize to Katharine E. Kahl of Burghill; The Bertha H. Tsai Award to Ken R. Hovis of Spartansburg, PA; The Robert I. Brainard, Jr., Communications Award to Amanda S. Bates of Massillon; The Cynthia L. Hepler Radio Award to Laura F. Vesco of Uniontown; The Krahling Journalism Award to Rachel R. Teron of Independence; The Alumni Computer Science and Information Systems Prize to Christopher J. Coffin of Elyria, Gina M. Grisola of Beaver Falls, PA, and Audrey E. Wells of Park Hills, KY; The Robert E. Hillier Family Scholarship to Chelsie A. Brenneman of Uniontown, Amanda Buzzacco of Youngstown, Angela L. Dallas of Steubenville, Mark J. Heltzel of Cochranton, Pa and Somer M. Williams of Pleasant City; The Robert L. and Flora Curtis Kniveton Accounting Prize to Michelle E. Homa of Highland Heights; The David Ellis Shively Sophomore Award to Lisa M. Andrews of Atwater and Amber D. Wallace of Jewett; The Hubert R. Pinney Senior Award in the Department of Economics, Accounting and Business Administration to Carla S. Conant of Akron, Brain D. Keller of Huron and Scot W. Gill, Canton; The Wall Street Journal Award to Scot W. Gill, Canton; The Ethel Mellinger Award in Elementary Education to Allyson E. Shultz of Salem; The Phi Delta Kappa Secondary Education Award to Abby K. Hardin of Sagamore Hills; The Amelia Alexander Dillow Prize to Barry L. Landwert of Homeworth; The Eric A. and Mary W. Eckler English Prize to Diane L. Thomas of Salem; The William H. McMaster, Jr. Senior English Prize to Rachel B. Rokosky of Canton; The John E. and Helen W. Saffell Prize to Catherine E. Curran of Canfield; The Stephen Family Prize for Writing to Karey B. Finn of Garrettsville; The Dr. Vasile and Georgia Calesi Spanish Prize to Stephanie A. Foltz of Canton; The Mary Frost French Prize to Emily E. Brobeck of Salem, Kristen A. Meadows of Orchard Park, KY and Jennifer Ortz of Youngstown; The Rufus Ruth Romance Language Prize to Carla S. Conant of Akron; The George and Shirley Weimer Prize in Japanese to Daniel C. McGee of Brook Park; The George and Shirley Weimer Prize in German to Rosa J. Detweiler of Millersburg; The Harold R. Dillow Geology Prize to Michael Z. Bitto of Hinckley and Joshua T. Sigler of Smithville; The Geology Award to Matthew A. Ferrel of Massillon; The Richard L. and Connie VanderMeulen Doyle Prize to Crystal D. Liptak of Macedonia and Phillip J. Mansfield of Twinsburg; the Fishel History Prize to Kelly L. Wilson of Niles; The Daniel Kibler, MD Prize to Kathleen R. Lust of Sycamore; The Physical Education and Health Prize to Andrea L. Maines of North East, PA; The Gordon L. Wable Memorial Prize to Anthony L. Frate of Mentor; The Wilbur and Burdella Stuckey Carl Mathematics Prize to Megan C. Moreland of Strongsville, Brian J. Oyer of Dalton, Kevin S. Russell of Minerva, Albert A. Smith of Canton, Robert S. Trevino of Beloit and Crystal A. Waysack of Aurora; The Ullman Mathematics Prize to Lindsay M. Dimon of Monroeville, PA, Peter J. Dudek of Alliance, Gina M. Grisola of Beaver Falls, PA and Amy F. Kuceyeski of Tippecanoe; The Lucile Brown Ketcham Prize to Krista L. McClarren of Alliance; The Music Faculty Award to Kristen E. Dobish of New Wilmington, PA and Danielle C. Shaub of North Canton; The Cecil T. Stewart Award to Michelle L. Mohr of Cambridge and Mindy K. Smith of Canton; The Teeple-Krohn Prize to Heather Cowie of Wakeman; The American Bible Society Award to Benjamin J. Thompson of Alliance; The Oscar W. and Viola H. Dunn Bible Prize to Justin L. Coleman of Robertsville; The Charles and Ilene Hart Prize in Physics to Brain D. Keller of Huron; The Physics Faculty Prize in Physics to Koji Masuda of Yokohama; The Judge Phillips Pre-Law Prize to Amanda L. Darrah of Atwater; The Political Science Award to Brian T. Angeloni of Louisville and Jared L. Wilson of Ravenna; The Kitzmiller Psychology Prize to Robyn E. Hossel of Kent; The Shea Zellweger Psychology Service Award to Elizabeth A. Burgess of Dover, Fallon M. Taylor of Willoughby and Jessica M. Welker of East Rochester; The William H. Porter, Jr. Sociology Award to Casey J. Glockner of North Canton and Zachary C. Bolitho of Dennison; The Sociology Senior Research Prize to Zachary C. Bolitho of Dennison; The George L. and Margaret Wagner King Prize for the Performing Arts to Matthew P. Antonini of Fombell, PA and the Mount Union Players' Hall of Fame Award to Ella M. Portman of Windsor.

Also recognized were those inducted into Psi Kappa Omega, the all-college academic honor society. The senior class president, Tiffany Murello of Avon Lake presented the senior gift to Mount Union College President Jack Ewing. She also handed the gavel to the incoming president for next year's class, Michael Wheeler of Massillon. The Great Teacher Award was presented to Timothy DeStefano, assistant professor of music.

To The Top!