Mount Union Faculty Members Receive STAR Grants

April 22, 2010

Mount Union College faculty members Dr. Debra Boyd-Kimball and Dr. Steven Cederbloom have been recognized as Sponsored Travel and Research (STAR) grant recipients.

Given each spring by the Mount Union Office of Academic Affairs, the STAR grants are awarded to faculty members who submit proposals for projects or research seen by an external review panel as innovated, creative and helpful to the development of the individual faculty members.

Boyd-Kimball, assistant professor of chemistry, received a grant to conduct a study on protein oxidation models of Alzheimer's disease. A faculty member since 2004, she earned a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Bethany College and a doctoral degree in bioanalytical chemistry from the University of Kentucky.

Cederbloom, associate professor of physics and astronomy and chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, received a grant to study the changes of variable stars in a globular cluster known as M14. A faculty member since 1992, he earned a bachelor of science degree from Carleton College and master's and doctoral degrees in astronomy from Indiana University.

To The Top!