mount union inducted five into m club hall of fame

April 27, 2010

Mount Union College inducted five individuals into its M Club Hall of Fame on Saturday, September 22, at halftime of the Muskingum--Mount Union football game in the Mount Union Stadium.


The five inductees were Chris Weber (football/class of 1988), Larry Reeder (football & track/class of '83), Maria (Scheiber '91) Campbell (swimming/class of '91), David Forshew (track/class of '91) and Patrick Helmuth (swimming/class of '91).

Weber's honors included earning First-Team All-Ohio Athletic Conference recognition at defensive end in 1986 and at linebacker in 1987. He was a key member of Mount Union's second undefeated regular season team and second OAC Championship squad in 1986.

Reeder was a member of the OAC Championship Indoor 880 relay team 1983, a member of the OAC Championship Outdoor 400 relay squad in 1983 and part of the Purple Raider National Championship 400 meter outdoor relay squad in 1983. In football, he earned First-Team All-OAC honors as a defensive back in 1982 and he still holds the Purple Raider record for most punt return yards in a game (117 yards versus Hiram, '81).

Campbell earned All-American honors numerous times during her career, including placing sixth in the 100 fly (1989), 15th in the 200 medley relay (1989), 10th in the 200 medley relay (1990) and 12th in the 100 fly (1990). She also earned the 1991 OAC Women's Swimmer of the Year Award. Scheiber-Campbell also took the OAC Individual Championship in the 500 yard free in 1991, 100 yard fly in 1990 & 1991 and 200 yard fly in 1990 & 1991.

Forshew earned All-American honors winning the 1990 Indoor National Championship in the pole vault, placing third in the pole vault at Outdoor Nationals in 1990 and finishing second in the pole vault at Indoor Nationals in 1989. He won the conference individual title in the pole vault at Indoor OACs in 1990 & 1991 and at Outdoor OACs in 1990.

Helmuth earned All-American status placing 16th as a member of the 800 free relay squad in 1989, taking 16th in the 200 IM in 1991 and 13th in the 400 IM in 1991. He was the OAC Champion in the 200 IM, 100 yard breaststroke and 200 yard breaststroke in 1990.

To be eligible for induction into the M-Club Hall of Fame an individual must have received a degree at least 15 years prior to their selection. The person must have earned two letters in one sport or one letter in two sports. A coach must be retired for five years or more before induction.

Three individuals were also honored as 2007 M Club Award of Excellence recipients. They included Michael Muffet (football/1967), Sue Deas (volleyball, basketball & softball/1975) and Michael Gallina (baseball/1982). Award of Excellence recipients are recognized for their significant accomplishments since their time at Mount Union.

To The Top!