Mount Union’s M Club Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony to be Held September 26

September 26, 2009

The 2009 M Club Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Saturday, September 26 at 11:30 a.m. at the Alliance Country Club.

Members of this year’s Hall of Fame include football teammates Rob Atwood ’94, Jim Ballard ’94, Ed Bubonics ’94, Mike Elder ’93 and Mike Hallett ’94.

Atwood was a tight end that won the Ed Sherman Award and was an All-OAC and All-American selection in 1992. He also earned All-OAC honors in 1993 as the starting tight end on the National Championship team.

Ballard was the quarterback of the Raiders’ first national championship team in 1993. During the season, he completed 321 passes for 4,572 yards which still stand as school single-season marks today. Ballard was a two-time All-OAC First Team Selection, All-American and OAC’s Mike Gregory Award winner. He was the first-ever winner of the Gagliardi Trophy and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame last year.

Bubonics was Ballard’s top target in 1993 as he had 102 catches for a still school-record of 1,769 yards. He won the OAC’s Ed Sherman Award in 1993 and was a two-time All-OAC and All-American selection.

Elder helped lay the foundation for the national title teams as he won the OAC’s Mike Gregory Award and was an All-OAC and All-American selection as a senior in 1992.

Hallett anchored the defensive line as a two-time All-OAC tackle on both the 1992 and 1993 teams. In both seasons he won the OAC’s Paul Hoernemann Award. An All-American in 1993, he finished his career with over 200 tackles.

The group will be recognized during halftime of the Mount Union vs. Muskingum football game on September 26. M Club Award of Excellence recipients Jim Bittner ’58, Phil Koppel ’66 and Michael Lee ’77 also will be recognized.

Rob Atwood '94Jim Ballard '94Ed Bubonics '94Mike Elder '93Mike Hallett '94


To The Top!