May 05, 2010


ALLIANCE, Ohio - Election 2000 is going down in history as the most controversial presidential election thus far, and as a result, what better a topic to debate at Mount Union's Annual Student Debate. The debate will be held April 11 at 6:30 p.m. in the Tolerton and Hood Hall of Science, room 100.

Coordinators for the event are Dr. Santosh Saha, associate professor of history and Cynthia Graham, director of multicultural student affairs. They will be joined by Dr. Martin Horning, professor of economics, who will be serving as chairman and moderator for the debate.
This year's judges include chief scorer, Dr. James Dillon, professor of mathematics; Dr. William Coleman, professor of communications; Tania Oldenhage, assistant professor of religion; Ernest Pratt, assistant professor of education; and Graham.

The topic of the debate, specifically, is the Presidential Electoral College and its place in the future of America.

The "A Team," which will be arguing for the abolishment of the Electoral College, includes Michelle Glaser, a sophomore from Parma; Cassie Humphreys, a sophomore from Newark; Sandra Nikolich, a junior from Homeworth; Vince Illacqua, a sophomore from Willoughby; and Louis Russo, a junior from Northfield.

Arguing for the continuation of the Electoral College will be the "B Team," which includes John Corder, a sophomore from Massillon; Jamie Peacock, a freshman from Fairview Park ; Samuel Dimmerling, a sophomore from East Canton; and Paola Ortega, a freshman from Mexico.

The debate is free and open to the public.

To The Top!