Mount Union to Present the Woodwind Chamber Music Recital on April 9

May 05, 2010

The Mount Union College Department of Music will present the Woodwind Chamber Music Recital on April at 8 p.m. in Presser Recital Hall.

The recital will include a woodwind quintet, woodwind trio, clarinet ensemble and sine nomine.

The woodwind quintet, made up of sophomore Jessica DeWitt (flute) of Loudonville, senior Jennifer Lehman (oboe) of Akron, senior Elizabeth Morris (clarinet) of Painesville, junior Laura Jurasko (horn) of Mingo Junction and junior Thomas James (bassoon) of Seville, will begin the program. They will present Early Hungarian Dances from the 17th Century by Ferenc Farkas, Toccata by Jack Stamp and Suite for Woodwind Quintet by Robert Washburn.

Sophomore Kayla Moles (flute) of Canal Fulton, Private Music Instructor Betty Shultz (oboe) and junior Thomas Tully (clarinet) will make up the Woodwind Trio. They will perform Little Trio by Alexander con Kreisler and Baroque Suite No.1 arr. by Ronald Dishinger.

The clarinet ensemble will perform Symphony No. IV, 1st movement by William Boyce, arr. by Elliot A. DelBorgo and Terzetoo by J.S. Bach, arr. by Eunice Dansby. Members will include: sophomore Allison Flach, of Painesville, junior Thomas Tully, of Lynx, sophomore Kelly Neale, of Parma, freshman John Thomas, of Canfield and freshman Tara Teed, of Conneaut.

Sine Nomine will be the final group to perform with faculty members Robin Tryon (flute), lecturer and private music instructor; Shultz (oboe) and Jayne Naragon (clarinet), lecturer of music. They will present Trio No. 1 by J. Haydn, arr. by Ary van Leeuwen, Divertimento by Malcolm Arnold, Aubade by Paul de Wailly and Pastorale Moderne by Whitney Tustin.

Presser Recital Hall is located within Cope Music Hall, which stands on the corner of Union Avenue and Simpson Street, across from the Campus Lakes.

This event is free and open to the public. For more information, contact the Mount Union College Department of Music at (330) 823-2180.

To The Top!