Ms. Jan Webler Granted 2017 Great Teacher Award

April 27, 2017

Alliance, OH—The University of Mount Union has named Ms. Jan Webler as the 2017 Great Teacher. Ms. Webler, assistant professor of education, is an accomplished leader with over 30 years of experience in public education. The award was presented Tuesday, April 25 at Mount Union's annual Senior Recognition and Honors Convocation.

Webler served the Alliance City School District as a teacher, special education supervisor, director of pupil personnel services, and director of school improvement for prevention and early intervention. She continues her education work locally and regionally as an educational consultant for SPARK Ohio, Ohio Ready Schools, and Synergy Alliance. 

A member of the Mount Union faculty since 2011, Webler currently serves on the Teacher Education Subcommittee. She earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Kent State University and pursued post-graduate coursework at both Walsh University and Ashland University. She holds certifications and licensures in elementary K-8, intervention specialist/special education, supervisor, elementary principal, assistant superintendent, and superintendent. 

“Jan Webler is the reason I chose to come to Mount Union,” said one student nominator. “She cares about students and does everything possible to make sure they will succeed in life.”  

“Looking back in my experiences with Ms. Webler, I can honestly say that, without her, I am not sure I would have made it to where I am right now,” said another student nominating Webler. “There are many characteristics that I could list, however, one that sticks out in my mind is passion. Anyone who has taken her classes can attest that she is very passionate about teaching.”

The Great Teacher Award, initiated in 1962, is sponsored by the Alumni Association and recognizes excellence in teaching – the foundation upon which the reputation of Mount Union has been built.

Webler was chosen as this year’s Great Teacher by a selection committee consisting of the officers of the senior class, the two past recipients of the Great Teacher Award, and the president and immediate past president of the Alumni Association.

To The Top!