Phi Kappa Tau Chapter Selected for Founders Four

June 09, 2014

ALLIANCE, Ohio— The Epsilon chapter of Phi Kappa Tau was selected to represent the University of Mount Union in Washington, D.C. on Thursday, July 3 at the 61st National Convention.

The brothers of Phi Kappa Tau have been given the opportunity to present for the Maxwell Trophy, which is presented to the fraternity's most outstanding chapter. These presentations are given during the National Convention. The Maxwell Trophy winner is announced during the Brotherhood Banquet on Saturday, July 5. The chapter applied for the Founders Four, a recognition given to the top four chapters in the nation. After a review of the applications, the Awards Committee selected Epsilon as one of the Founders Four chapters for the fourth consecutive year. Upon being selected the four chapters will travel to the National Convention to present their cases.

President Greg Koman, a junior public relations major of Painesville, OH, spoke about the brothers’ accomplishments.

"I am incredibly proud of my chapter for being recognized as a Founders Four chapter for the fourth consecutive year. It is an incredible honor that comes as a result of each brother within the chapter working to better themselves and our organization each and every day. I look forward to the opportunity to present during our National Convention in Washington, D.C., alongside my chapter brothers and hope to bring the Maxwell Trophy home to the University of Mount Union."

In 2013, the Epsilon chapter donated $12,380 to philanthropic causes, with $4,400 being donated directly to Phi Kappa Tau's national philanthropy, the SeriousFun Children's Network. In addition, the chapter collectively served 3934.5 hours in community service to local agencies, most of them being donated to Flying Horse Farms: a SeriousFun camp in Mt. Gilead, OH. At Mount Union's Greek Awards, they took home the following awards: excellence in community service, excellence in philanthropic efforts, excellence in campus involvement and leadership, excellence in programming, excellence in new member education, improvement in risk management and excellence in alumni and parent relations. They also received the chapter of excellence gold standing award for overall excellence at Greek Awards. Greg Koman received the Outstanding Chapter President Award, Anthony "Wood" Ocacio, junior middle childhood education major of Brunswick, OH, received the Brotherhood Award and Ryan Smith, senior public relations major of Minerva, OH, won the Outstanding Fraternity Man Award.

To The Top!