Scott Mason Honored With Faculty Salute Initiative

December 21, 2012

DALLAS, Texas -- University of Mount Union faculty athletics representative Scott Mason was one of 15 faculty athletics representatives to be honored honored by The National Football Foundation (NFF) as part of the 2012 NFF Faculty Salute Initiative, sponsored by Fidelity Investments, honoring the significant contributions of faculty athletics representatives across the nation.

"For more than 150 years, faculty athletics representatives have played a critical role in the overall educational experience of our country's student-athletes," said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. "We are proud to join with Fidelity to highlight their contributions and pivotal support in ensuring that our nation's student-athletes succeed on and off the field."

Launched in 2011 by Fidelity and the NFF, the initiative is an extension of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards Program that provides postgraduate scholarships for college football's elite student-athletes. Fidelity, which is also the presenting sponsor of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, has taken on a leadership role with the initiative as a natural extension of its ongoing support of the scholar-athlete ideal and commitment to higher education nationwide.

As part of the initiative, each school with an NFF National Scholar-Athlete receives recognition for their faculty athletics representative, and a $5,000 donation per school ($75,000 total) from Fidelity will be made to support the academic support services for student-athletes at each school.

Mason, a summa cum laude graduate at Mount Union, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry and went on to earn a doctorate in inorganic chemistry from the University of South Carolina.

A member of the Mount Union faculty since 2001, Mason is a dedicated and active professor and his list of accomplishments on and off campus is extensive. He is the director of the pre-health professions program and has conducted workshops and summer camps for local high school chemistry teachers and students in fourth through sixth grades respectively. He serves on a number of campus committees, including the Committee on Athletics and Cross-Curricular Development Committee. On a professional level, he is a member of the American Chemical Society and serves as the local coordinator of the United States National Chemistry Olympiad.

In addition, Mason is an avid researcher, publishing more than 30 articles and reviews and offering presentations at numerous meetings, workshops and institutions. He has received grant funding from organizations such as the National Science Foundation and the Stark County Educational Foundation.

In 2005, Mason was recognized by Mount Union's fraternity and sorority community as the Outstanding Faculty Member. He has also received the B.P. America/Miles Laboratory Award, Department of Education Fellowship and Bouknight Teaching Assistant Award. Earlier this year, he was given the 2012 Great Teacher Award at Mount Union in recognition of excellence in teaching.

He and his wife Sheryl, also a Mount Union graduate and professor, are the parents of Thomas 17, Sarah 14, Mary 9 and Elizabeth 7 and reside in Alliance.

For 2012, the NFF will recognize 15 faculty athletics representatives from the 15 schools with a 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete, including (with the names of the scholar-athletes in parentheses):

Baylor University, Mike Rogers (Nick Florence, QB, 3.79 GPA)
Duke University, Martha Putallaz (Sean Renfree, QB, 3.40 GPA)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Hank Smith (Ethan Peterson, OL, 3.83 GPA)
Northern Illinois University, Matt Streb (Nabal Jefferson, DT, 3.78 GPA)
Northwestern University,  Robert Gundlach (Patrick Ward, OT, 3.94 GPA)
Robert Morris University, Scott Branvold (Nolan Nearhoof, DE, 3.73 GPA)
Saint Xavier University (Ill.), Barbara Becker (Shane Zackery, WR, 3.71 GPA)
Syracuse University, Mike Wasylenko (Ryan Nassib, QB, 3.57 GPA)
Texas Tech University, Brian Shannon (Cody Davis, S, 3.70 GPA)
University of Alabama, Kevin Whitaker (Barrett Jones, C, 4.00 GPA)
University of Mount Union (Ohio), Scott Mason (Nick Driskill, S, 3.77 GPA)
University of Nebraska, Josephine Potuto (Rex Burkhead, RB, 3.43 GPA)
University of Notre Dame, Patricia Bellia (Manti Te'o, LB, 3.32 GPA)
University of Southern California, Clare Pastore (Matt Barkley, QB, 3.21 GPA)
West Texas A&M University, David Rausch (Aaron Mullane, OL, 3.84 GPA)

To The Top!