Spring Recognition Banquet Honors Student Accomplishments

April 22, 2010

Aimee Bosworth of Canton was named Outstanding Senior Woman and Brent Bauknecht of Bay Village was named Outstanding Senior Man at the annual Mount Union College Spring Recognition Banquet, held April 3 in the Hoover-Price Campus Center.


Brent Bauknecht and Aimee Bosworth

Brent Bauknecht and Aimee Bosworth

An early childhood education major, Bosworth's campus activities include serving as president of Panhellenic Council and as a Panhellenic recruitment guide. A member of the cheerleading squad, she was the 2005 homecoming queen and coordinated the homecoming pep rally and bonfire. She served as a preview and orientation guide for two years, as a student coordinator and was an LS 100 assistant. Named to the Dean's List five semesters, she is a member of Alpha Delta Pi, Order of Omega and Alpha Lambda Delta.

A sociology major, Bauknecht's campus activities include serving as vice president of College Republicans, secretary of Rock for Life and secretary of Sigma Theta Epsilon. He was the recipient of the Dean Taylor Leadership Prize and a member of Sophomore Service honorary. He served on the college judicial board for two years, as a community educator for two years and as a programming assistant for one year. He was a member of the men's cross country and track teams. He also participated in the study abroad program in Australia.

Semifinalists for the Outstanding Senior Woman award were Leah Beegan of Cambridge, Sara Stevens of Gibsonia, PA, Rachel Teron of Independence and Mary Tyna of Fairview Park. Semifinalists for the Outstanding Senior Man award were John Davis of Chardon, Brian Engelhardt of Massillon, Jai Govindani of Thailand and Phillip Mansfield of Roaming Shores.

These awards have been presented for over 30 years. Nominations are based upon leadership, citizenship, service and scholarship.

Tarion Young of Alliance was presented with the Black Student Union Outstanding Senior Award, the Terence S. Taylor Leadership Award recipient was Josh Donnelly of Solon and the Organization of the Year award went to WRMU, FM 91.1. Students were also recognized for being selected to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges for 2006, as recipients of the National Cabinet of Mount Union Women scholarships and as members of Alpha Lambda Delta, a national scholastic honorary for freshmen.

Other students were honored for their induction into Blue Key, a national honorary for junior and senior students that recognizes and selects students based upon their accomplishments in the areas of leadership, character, scholarship and service to the College and the community and Sophomore Service, a local honorary with goals that include serving the community and promoting leadership and scholarship in the freshman class. Students are selected based upon grade point average, dependability, integrity and service to others.

To The Top!