Spring Recognition Banquet Honors Student Accomplishments

April 22, 2010

Christina Zitko of Chardon was named Outstanding Senior Woman and Chad Johnson of Ashtabula was named Outstanding Senior Man at the annual Mount Union College Spring Recognition Banquet, held April 17 in the Hoover-Price Campus Center.

An early childhood education major, Zitko's campus activities have included serving as president of Alpha Xi Delta sorority and treasurer of Sophomore Service honorary. She was also selected as a preview and orientation guide, a program administrator and a community educator. Named to the Dean's List five semesters, she was also named to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges and is a member of Order of Omega, history and political science club, Student National Education Association and Campus Crusade for Christ.

An accounting major, Johnson's campus activities include serving as vice president of Alpha Phi Omega, vice president of the Residence Hall Association, treasurer for Relay for Life, parliamentarian for Student Senate and as a member of Mount Union College Democrats, Student Activities Council, Sophomore Service Honorary and as a Preview and Orientation Guide. He was also elected to serve as secretary of the Class of 2007. The recipient of the Dean Taylor Leadership Award, Robert Hillier Scholarship and the Lombardi Scholarship, Johnson has been named to the Dean's List every semester. He has also been named to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges and Blue Key Honorary.

Semifinalists for the Outstanding Senior Woman award were Kay Sas and Lisa Sas of Elyria. Semifinalists for the Outstanding Senior Man award were Leland Spencer of Massillon and Gerald Traster of Elyria.

These awards have been presented for over 30 years. Nominations are based upon leadership, citizenship, service and scholarship.

LaToya Trice of Massillon was presented with the Black Student Union Outstanding Senior Award, the Terence S. Taylor Leadership Award recipient was Christy Robison and the Outstanding Organization Award went to the Pre-Law Society. Students were also recognized for being selected to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges for 2007, as recipients of the National Cabinet of Mount Union Women scholarships and as members of Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD), a national scholastic honorary for freshmen. The Maria Leonard Book Award, awarded to the senior member of ALD with the highest grade point average, was presented o Beatrice Petzinger.

Other students were honored for their induction into Blue Key, a national honorary for junior and senior students that recognizes and selects students based upon their accomplishments in the areas of leadership, character, scholarship and service to the College and the community and Sophomore Service, a local honorary with goals that include serving the community and promoting leadership and scholarship in the freshman class. Students are selected based upon grade point average, dependability, integrity and service to others.

To The Top!