Student Debate Focuses on Stimulus Spending

October 26, 2011

On Tuesday, October 25, the University of Mount Union held its annual student debate. The topic was “Resolved: Further stimulus spending financed by moderate tax increases is the best approach to reviving the economy and creating new jobs.”
Those in favor of the topic included Marilyn Miller, a junior history major of Amherst, Ohio; Matthew Fahey, a sophomore political science major of Akron, Ohio; and Stephen Yanovich, a freshman of Newton Falls, Ohio. They argued that deficit budgeting and heavy expenditure will positively help the U.S. economy as it will create more jobs.
Miller explained her side of the debate by stating, “History repeats itself.”
Those debating against the topic included Elizabeth Haavisto, a sophomore international studies major of Massillon, Ohio; John Simpson, a sophomore communication major of Massillon, Ohio; John Opalenik, a freshman of Cleveland, Ohio; and Sara Whinnie, a junior middle childhood education major of Mentor, Ohio. They argued that more and more federal expenditures will badly affect our economy as it will delay economic recovery. 
Haavisto also used historic events to help explain her opinion on this topic. She used Japan’s failure of a similar stimulus plan by stating, “It [Japan] has a history of failure.”
An open discussion followed the debate, giving both sides the opportunity to ask questions to each other and the audience.
Cash prizes were given to the top three debaters. The first place prize of $70 was awarded to Haavisto, second place of $60 to Miller and third place of $50 to Fahey. Other prizes, sponsored by Mount Union’s Offices of Marketing and Alumni Relations and University Activities, also were awarded to fourth place honoree, Simpson and fifth place recipient, Whinnie. Certificates were presented to all participants.
Dr. Santosh Saha, associate professor of history at Mount Union, organized the debate. Dr. Lee Gray, professor of geology, served as moderator, and Dr. Rodney Dick, associate professor of English and chair of the Department of English, served as the chief scorer and judge.
To The Top!