Skip to Content

Higher Learning Commission

Mount Union was first accredited on January 1, 1913, by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, commonly known as the North Central Association (NCA). In 2014, the NCA officially transitioned to the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as one of six regional accreditors of postsecondary degree-granting institutions in the country. While various programs at Mount Union seek independent accreditation from various agencies, the institution itself has successfully reaffirmed its accreditation for over a century, most recently in 2020. Mount Union currently follows the Open pathway to HLC accreditation.