Skip to Content


Mount Union Announces Regula Scholars for 2020-2021

May 12, 2020

ALLIANCE, Ohio — The University of Mount Union’s Ralph and Mary Regula Center for Public Service and Civic Engagement has announced its Regula Scholars for the 2020-2021 Academic Year. 

  • Francesca Bowman ’21, a middle childhood education major of Garrettsville, Ohio
  • Tianna Dillon ’21, a political science major of Alliance, Ohio
  • John Madison ’21, a history and political science double major of Alliance, Ohio
  • Farrel Murphy ’22, a political science and religious studies double major of Wooster, Ohio
  • Cassidy Page ’22, a psychology major of New Philadelphia, Ohio
  • Jake Penko ’21, an international affairs and diplomacy and national security and foreign intelligence analysis double major of Seven Hills, Ohio
  • Ben Trenka ’22, a biology major of Waterville, Ohio
  • Ashley Weaver ’21, a nursing major of Wilmot, Ohio


The Regula Scholars Program was created in an effort to recognize outstanding students and provide them with additional opportunities. Scholars receive stipends to fund internships, conferences, programming, and travel while they are enrolled at Mount Union. 

These students are selected based on a nomination process and must complete 150 hours of service. Additionally, Regula Scholars must maintain a 3.5 GPA and spend time learning about ethical decision making, employment in the public sector and many other experiential opportunities.

The program was initiated and continues to be possible thanks to a lead endowed gift from Bob ‘67 and Linda DeHoff. An additional endowed gift was given by David ’63 and Elaine (Venon ’63) Dabelko in 2014. Since then, all funds raised for the Regula Center have been added to endowments for Regula Scholars.

Learn more about the program at