Skip to Content


Mount Union Honors Faculty, Staff Award Recipients for 2020-2021

May 06, 2021

ALLIANCE, Ohio — As part of its annual Employee Recognition Ceremony, held virtually for the second consecutive year, the University of Mount Union presented awards to its faculty and staff. With a hybrid model of learning and a host of new implementations on Mount Union’s campus, these employees have been diligent in providing an exceptional experience on campus.


The Elizabeth W. and Joseph K. Davidson Staff Award is presented each year to a staff member that best represents the values and principles of Mount Union. The 2020-2021 recipient of this award is Mark Kolenz, director of information technology for operations. He has been at Mount Union in the Office of Information Technology (IT) since 2006.


The Outstanding Support Staff Award is given to a support staff member at the University of Mount Union to recognize the hard work and outstanding contributions made to Mount Union. The 2020-2021 recipient of this award is Traci McGary Finnegin, education coordinator in the Department of Education. She has been with Mount Union since 2003.


The Outstanding Hourly Staff Award is given to an hourly staff member at the University of Mount Union to recognize the hard work and outstanding contributions made to Mount Union. Recognized for the 2020-2021 edition of this award is Denise Hamsher, housekeeper. She has been with Mount Union since 2017.


Mount Union has also been in the process of implementing a new Student Information System (SIS) software system, which replaces and consolidates several legacy systems at the University. A Mount Union team consisting of representatives from the Offices of Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, the University Registrar, Business Affairs, Student Financial Services, Enrollment Management, HR/Payroll and Information Technology have been diligently working on this project for the past two years.

"As we near completion, we would like to acknowledge and thank those who have essentially been given a second job to implement the new system," said Ron Crowl, associate vice president for planning and program implementation and chief planning officer. "They have continued to do their regular work and this important work to implement the new system. Thank you to all of you who have had any part in the process of this implementation."


In their third year of presentation, the faculty awards are presented based on teaching, scholarship and service, as voted on by members of the Tenure and Promotion and Continuation Committee. 

Dr. Richelle Teeling-Smith, assistant professor of physics in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was awarded the Distinguished Teaching Award. Dr. Grant Cook, Margaret Morgan Ramsey Professor in Music and director of choral activities in the Department of Music, was awarded the Distinguished Scholarship Award. Dr. Robert Ekey, professor of physics and chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award. Leslie Shaffer, lecturer in education and employee with the Alliance City Health Department, was named the Outstanding Adjunct Award recipient.



Mount Union also recognized several individuals for their years of service, including 17 people with five years of service, 15 with 10 years of service, eight with 15 years of service, six with 20 years of service and three with 25 years of service.

Name Title Years of Service
Patience Bartunek Director of Student Conduct 5
Bryan Boatright University Registrar 5
Suzette Burlingame Director of Institutional Effectiveness 5
Sara Dorris Assistant Professor, Nursing 5
Andrea Ferraro Associate Professor, Communication 5
Kimberly Hajec Director of International Admission 5
Amber Hunt Assistant Professor, Finance 5
Rebecca King Accounts Payable Representative 5
Bethany Leslie Director of The Mount Union Fund and Planned Giving 5
Tina Powers Mail Room Coordinator 5
Meghan Simons Head Softball Coach 5
Randolph Smith Assistant Director of Admission 5
Ryan Smith Director of Academic Marketing 5
Anne Schultz Advancement Officer, Stewardship Specialist 5
Kathleen Thomas Director of Student Financial Aid 5
Kaetlynn Wise Assistant Director of Graduate Admission 5
Lori Braa Associate Professor, Sport Business 10
Grant Cook III Professor, Music | Director of Choral Activities; Margaret Morgan Ramsey Professor in Music 10
Corey Davis Campus Security Officer 10
Cynthia Dudley Housekeeper 10
Sheila Faulk Housekeeper 10
Emily Fisher Head Women's Lacrosse Coach | Assistant Athletic Director 10
Michael J. Fuline Head Men's Basketball Coach 10
Gina Maida Library Circulation Manager 10
Sheryl A. Mason Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry 10
Spiro Mavoroidis Associate Professor, Biology 10
Amy McElhinney Associate Professor, Biology | Department Chair, Biology 10
Marci Muckleroy Director of Transfer and Readmission 10
Matthew Parnell Director Recreation/Wellness Services 10
Kelsey Scanlon Assistant Professor, Exercise Science 10
Katherine Carnell Director of Student Involvement and Leadership | Instructor, Leadership Studies Minor 15
James Coulter HVAC Technician 15
Mark Kolenz Director of Information Technology for Operations 15
Melissa Muller Associate Professor, Psychology 15
Gwendolyn Schwartz Professor, English 15
Sarah Torok-Gerard Associate Professor, Psychology 15
Kristine Turko Professor, Psychology | Director, Spectrum Education Center 15
Kelleen Weber Director of Alcohol, Drug and Wellness Education | Lecturer, Human Performance and Sport Business 15
Edward Bates Mechanic | Fleet and Service Staff 20
Patricia Boehm Professor (Music Education and Voice), Music 20
Faithe Hoschar Housekeeper 20
Barbara Lyons Senior Administrative Assistant to the Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities 20
Scott Mason Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry | Department Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Program Director, Pre-Health 20
David Schmid Security Sergeant Officer 20
Gregg Courtad Professor, Spanish 25
Paul Hesse Head Baseball Coach | Assistant to the Athletic Director | Strength Coach, Baseball 25
Margherita Kavulla Assistant Director of Information Technology for Administrative Systems 25