Skip to Content

Previous Schooler Lecturers

1988-89: Gerald F. Ford - former President 

1989-90: Carl Sagan - world-renowed scientist and author 

1989-90: Dr. C. Everett Koop - former U.S. Surgeon General 

1990-91: Dr. Henry A. Kissinger - former U.S. Secretary 0f State 

1990-91: Dr. Vladimir Sakharov - key Soviet defector, and Dr. David B. Funderburk - former U.S. Ambassador to Romania

1991-92: Rev. Jesse Jackson - ordained minister, advocate for human rights and high-profile proponent for the importance of educating the young 

1991-92: Hugh Downs - host of ABC's prime time weekly newsmagazine 20/20 

1992-93: Jean Kirkpatrick - former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations and expert on world politics 

1992-93: Oscar Arias - former president of Costa Rica and recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize

1993-94: David Brinkley - broadcast news veteran and host of the ABC Sunday morning news program "This Week With David Brinkley" 

1993-94: Terry Anderson - native of Lorain, OH and was freed after nearly seven years of captivity in the Middle East 

1994-95: Thomas Keneally - author of best-selling book Schindler's List, and Leopold Page - Holocaust survivor who was instrumental in publicizing the story of Oscar Schindler 

1994-95: Alan Page - Minnesota Supreme Court Justice

1995-96: James A. Lovell, Jr. - commanger of America's fifth moon launch, Apollo 

1995-96: Harold Kushner - international bestselling author 

1996-97: Sandra Day O'Connor - first woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court 

1996-97: Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. - environmetnal activist and son of late Senator Robert F. Kennedy 

1997-98: Robert Fulghum - New York Times-bestselling author

1997-98: Joe Clark - former Army drill instructor and principal of Eastside High School, Paterson, NJ

1998-99: Lech Walesa - former president of Poland 

1999-00: Mario Cuomo - New York's governor in 1982, 1986 and 1990 

2000-01: Dr. Beck Weathers - survivor of 1996 Mount Everest expedition 

2000-01: Cokie Roberts - ABC's chief congressional analyst, and Steven Roberts - commentator on radio and television 

2001-02: Archbishop Desmond Tutu - 1984 Nobel Peace Prize recipient 

2002-03: Andrew Young - former United States ambassador to the United Nations

2003-04: Dr. Robert Ballard - deep-sea explorer, discoverer of the Titanic 

2004-05: Madeleine Albright - former U.S. Secretary of State 

2005-06: Tim Russert - moderator of NBC's "Meet the Press" 

2006-07: Ken Burns - documentary filmmaker 

2007-08: James Carville - political consultant, and Mary Matalin - former assistant to President George W. Bush and counselor to Vice President Dick Cheney 

2008-09: Fareed Zakaria - writer and commentator

2009-10: Greg Mortenson - former moutaineer, co-founderof two non-profit organizations and co-author of Three Cups of Tea 

2011-12: Khaled Hosseini - New York Times-bestselling author

2012-13: Cory Booker - mayor of Newark, NJ

2013-14: Tina Brown - founder of The Daily Beast

2014-15: Carrie Coon '03 - actress and Tracy Letts - playwright and actor

2015-16: Chuck Todd - NBC News political director and host of "Meet the Press" and "MTP Daily"

2016-17: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar - NBA all-time leading scorer, New York Times-bestselling author, and U.S. Cultural Ambassador

2017-18: General Michael Hayden - former director of the Central Intelligence Agency and the National Security Agency

2018-19: Margaret Atwood - Author of "The Handmaid's Tale"

2021-22: Donna Brazile and Ana Navarro - political strategists 

2022-23: Ginger Zee and Dan Harris - mental health advocates

2023-2024: Erin Brockovich - consumer advocate and environmental activist