Skip to Content


Criminal Justice Honorary Inducts First Mount Union Members

May 10, 2018

ALLIANCE, Ohio – The national criminal justice honorary of Alpha Phi Sigma (APS) has established a chapter at the University of Mount Union and inducted its inaugural group of honorees in April. 

Mount Union’s chapter is the Pi Beta Chi chapter and inducted 11 students and one faculty member this year. The chapter advisor is Dr. Bryan Robinson, assistant professor of sociology and criminal justice, who has been a member of APS since 1999.

CJ Honorary

The students inducted were: Emmalee Carver ’19, Morgan Cmunt ’18, Ashley Hall ’18, Jacob Hemenway ’18, Zachary Kaplan ’18, Eric Leasure ’18, Zackery Metz ‘18, Taylor Nottingham ’18, Emily Siedel ’18, Joan Tolliver ’18 and Alexander Uhas ’19. Dr. Andy Bain, director of criminal justice studies at Mount Union, was also inducted.

To be a member of APS, baccalaureate students must be enrolled and have a declared major or minor in criminal justice and have completed three semesters of coursework with a minimum 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Those students must also be ranked in the top 35 percent of their class. 

Beginning in 1942, there are now more than 360 chapters of Alpha Phi Sigma across the United States. The organization is recognized by the Academy of Criminal Justice Science and is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.