Skip to Content


Mount Union Professor Appointed to Ohio Educator Standards Board

June 16, 2020

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio Department of Higher Education and its Chancellor, Randy Gardner, has announced that Dr. Melissa Askren-Edgehouse, associate professor and chair of the Department of Education at the University of Mount Union, has been appointed to serve on the Ohio Educator Standards Board (ESB). 

Askren-Edgehouse, a 1999 graduate of Mount Union who also serves as the Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation Coordinator at the institution, will serve a two-year term from July 2020 – June 2022.

“I’m beyond honored to be selected to serve in this role,” Askren-Edgehouse said. “As the higher education representative for Ohio's private universities, I’m anxious to begin learning more about processes and procedures at a state level, and I am excited to bring what I learn from the ESB to our educator preparation programs at Mount Union.” 

“On behalf of the College of Applied and Social Sciences, I would like to extend sincere congratulations to Dr. Askren-Edgehouse on her recent appointment,” said Dr. Kristine Still, founding dean of the College of Applied and Social Sciences at Mount Union. “Dr. Askren-Edgehouse has demonstrated ongoing leadership within her department and the University and has also been highly engaged at the state level. I am confident that she will make valuable contributions to the Ohio ESB.” 

The Educator Standards Board is comprised of P-12 teachers and administrators, board of education and parent teacher association members, and higher education representatives. The Ohio Department of Education, the State Board of Education, the Ohio Department of Higher Education, Ohio Senators and Ohio House of Representatives members, among other groups, all serve important roles in the functions of the Board.