Skip to Content


Nominations Open for Third Annual Regula Awards for Public, Community Service in Stark County

February 01, 2024

ALLIANCE, Ohio — The University of Mount Union’s Regula Center for Public Service and Civic Engagement has announced nominations are now open for the third annual Ralph Regula Award for Public Service and the Mary Regula Award for Community Service.

creighton and gates with awards

The Ralph Regula Award for Public Service recognizes an individual who exemplifies the ideals of the late Ralph Regula who spent his career as a public servant. It will be given annually to a person employed in the public sector in Stark County who is dedicated to their career and consistently works for the betterment of Stark County. Previous recipients include Janet Weir Creighton and Judge Edward Elum. 

The Mary Regula Award for Community Service is given annually to an individual in Stark County who volunteers their time to improve the lives of others, much like Mary’s commitment to the legacy of first ladies, improving the lives of those in Stark County and serving others. Previous recipients include Pat Kovach-Gates and Leigh Mainwaring.

Nominations can be submitted through forms found at and will be accepted until late February. The award winners will be recognized at the Regula Center Annual Meeting on Tuesday, April 2 at the Alliance Country Club.