Skip to Content

Department of Communication

The mission of the Department of Communication is to help students become effective communicators and critical consumers of messages thus preparing them for life as educated citizens and professionals. The Department seeks to integrate the strengths of the liberal arts traditions with the theoretical foundation and skills necessary for majors to enter the communication professions or to continue studies in graduate school. The major is designed to produce graduates who are technically proficient as well as knowledgeable and conversant in the theory, history, literature, and criticism of the field.

The Departent offers three majors: Communication Studies, Public Relations, and Integrated Media. The major requires 44 semester hours of study in the Department. Please note that students who choose to pursue one of the majors in the Department of Communication may not also pursue other majors or minors offered by the Department of Communication. 

Department of Communication Faculty