Skip to Content


Mount Union Recognizes Faculty, Staff Award Winners for 2019-2020

May 21, 2020

ALLIANCE, Ohio — As part of its annual Employee Recognition Ceremony, held virtually this spring, the University of Mount Union presented awards to its faculty and staff. These employees have worked diligently during a unique academic year to provide an unparalleled experience to the Mount Union community.

The Outstanding Support Staff Award went to Teresa Latham, student affairs coordinator. She has been with the institution for 12 years. The Davidson Staff Award was presented to Cara McEldowney, manager of instructional design. She has been at Mount Union for 26 years.

Latham McEldowney

The Outstanding Hourly Staff Award was presented in a unique way for 2019-2020, as Mount Union honored its entire Campus Security staff for its flexibility and responsiveness during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Those honored were: Nicole Andrews, Donald Cook, Corey Davis, Savannah Derrick, John Hawk, Michael Perkins, Corey Prendergast, Christopher Santabene, David Schmid, Jeremy Secrest and Eric Ulrich.

      Derrick  Hawk      Santabene  Schmid  Secrest  Ulrich

In their second year of presentation, the faculty awards are presented based on teaching, scholarship and service, as voted on by members of the Tenure and Promotion and Continuation Committee.

Dr. Kevin Meyer, associate professor of psychology and neuroscience, was presented with the Distinguished Teaching Award. Dr. Nicole Johnson, professor of philosophy and religious studies, was awarded the Distinguished Scholarship Award. The Distinguished Service Award went to Dr. Danielle Cordaro, associate professor of English and director of the Digital, Written and Oral Communication Studio. Mount Union also honored Roy McCullough (not pictured), lecturer of physics and astronomy, with the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award.


Mount Union also recognized several individuals for their years of service, including 26 people with five years of service, 12 with 10 years of service, nine with 15 years of service, eight with 20 years of service, seven with 25 years of service, and six with 30 years of service and two with 35 years of service.

Five years of service
Betty Allen Assistant Professor, Nursing
Monica Andreski Assistant Professor, Nursing
Shehla Arif Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Dianna Barley Payroll Specialist
Caitlin Clark Executive Assistant to the President and Board of Trustees
Perri-Anne Concialdi Clinical Assistant Professor, Nursing
Andrea Corbisello Clinical Assistant Professor, Nursing | Director of Nursing Laboratory and Clinical Experiences
Dana Domer Assistant Professor/Clinical Coordinator Physician Assistant Studies Program
Andrea Ferraro Assistant Professor, Communication
Joshua Gargac Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Jamie Greiner Sustainability and Campus Outreach Manager
Michael Gresock Instructor, Biology
Michael Guthrie General Maintenance-Furniture Mover
Sheryl Holt Physical Therapy Program Director | Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy
Roger Kunes Assistant Professor, Physician Assistant Studies Program
Holly Lucas Instructor, Department of Business
Melissa Mahnke Head Volleyball Coach
William Merriman Jr University President
Pamela Miller Housekeeper
Don Montgomery Director of Advancement
Christine Morey Mail Center Clerk
Matthew Murphy Groundskeeper
Carter Poe Head Men's Soccer Coach
William Schweizer Assistant Professor and Professional in Residence, Management
Angi Swonger Executive Assistant Office of Marketing
Amanda Valverde Administrative Assistant of Academic Affairs - Events and Programs
10 years of service
Kelley Clark Head Women's Soccer Coach
Danielle Cordaro Associate Professor, English | Director, Digital, Written and Oral Communication Studio
Adina Haught Senior Administrative Assistant to the Dean of the College of Applied and Social Sciences
Ronald Holden Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Diversity and Inclusion
Michael Kachilla Associate Professor, Management and Internship Coordinator | Professional In Residence; Director, Entrepreneurial Initiatives Studies
Anna Keenan Housekeeper
Michael Knepp Associate Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience | Department Chair, Psychology, Neuroscience, and Human Development
Teresa Latham Student Affairs Coordinator
Patricia Lower Housekeeper
Bruce Pietz Associate Professor, Education
Corey Prendergast Campus Security Officer
Danial Yard Assistant Controller
15 years of service
William Ketjen III Director of Campus Safety and Security
Theresa Davis Associate Professor, History | Department Chair, History
Susan Haddox Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies | Department Chair, Philosophy and Religious Studies
Maira Liliestedt Professor (Piano and Music History), Music
Patricia Nutial Assistant Manager of University Store
Suzanne Venet-Pietz Head Women's Basketball Coach | Senior Women's Administrator
Jason Whaley HVAC Technician
Audra Youngen Director of Alumni Engagement and University Activities
20 years of service
Ronald Crowl Associate Vice President for Planning and Program Implementation | Chief Planning Officer
Ivory Lyons Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies
Ernest Pratt Associate Professor, Education
Aimee Schuller Manager of University Store
Sara Sherer Director of Residence Life
Anne Triplett Professor, Mathematics
James Twaddle Sr. Key Room Coordinator | Maintenance / Mail Carrier
Sandra Vild Data and Business Analyst
25 years of service
Linda Burkey Professor, Education and Lester D. Crow Professor in Education
Joan Cockrill Executive Assistant
Mark Himmelein Professor, German
Jean Kritz-Conway Cashier/Billing Representative
Scott Watson Maintenance Supervisor
Beth Wayt LPN, Health Center | LPN/Insurance Coordinator
Gerald Wuchter Professor, Mathematics
30 years of service
Jack Desario Professor, Political Science | Director, Legal Studies
Gregory King Vice President, University Advancement
Andrew Price Professor, English | Alice W. and Eric E. Eckler Chair of American Literature and Drama
Rudolf Roggenkamp Professor, Theatre
Jonathan Scott Professor, Biology | Director, Honors Program; Charles S. Gallaher, M.D. Chair in Biology
Tina Stuchell Executive Director of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
35 years of service
Deborah Knepp Housekeeper
Michele McCallum Athletics Coordinator | Secretary, Academic Affairs / Athletic Department