Skip to Content


Mount Union Recognizes Employees During Campus Recognition Ceremony

May 27, 2022

ALLIANCE — The University of Mount Union presented its annual faculty and staff awards, as well as recognized members of the campus community for their years of service to the institution, during the annual Employee Recognition Ceremony. 

Four faculty awards were presented during the event. The Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award went to Dawnaka Meyer, lecturer in the Department of Psychology, Neuroscience and Human Development. The Distinguished Teaching Award was given to Dr. Sheryl Mason, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry. The Distinguished Scholarship Award was presented to Dr. Xi Wang, assistant professor of civil engineering. The Distinguished Service Award rounded out the faculty awards and went to Dr. Melissa Askren-Edgehouse, professor of education.



Three awards were also presented to staff members for their contributions to campus. Scott Ginder, manager of administrative systems and network analyst, was given the Elizabeth W. and Joseph K. Davidson Staff Award. The Outstanding Support Staff Award recipient was Kara Martin-Ellsworth, executive assistant in the Office of Business Affairs. The final staff award was the Outstanding Hourly Staff Award, which was presented to Patricia Kirven, housekeeper.


The following individuals were also recognized for their respective years of service to Mount Union:

5 Years

  • Logan Aguiniga – Director of Planned Giving
  • Elizabeth Bandy – Assistant Professor, Communication
  • Jody Bryan – Coordinator, Center for Student Success
  • Mark Carroll – Associate Professor, Physical Therapy
  • Devan Doran – Administrative Systems Analyst
  • Aleksander Erwin – Assistant Track and Cross Country Coach
  • Jeffrey Fox – General Maintenance
  • Kelly Gaughan – Head Athletic Trainer
  • Brian Hopkins – Director of Academic Support
  • Jenny Huth – Director of Camps and Conferences
  • Andrew Hutsky – Assistant Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Grace Kimble – Housekeeper
  • Kara Martin-Ellsworth – Executive Assistant in the Office of Business Affairs
  • Jill Grove – Spirit Squad Advisor
  • Matt Mihelic – Head Men’s Volleyball Coach
  • Kyle Miller – Assistant Football Coach
  • Heather Milliken Mercer – Instructor, Biology
  • Cynthia Miner – Groundskeeper
  • Jeffrey Neitzke – Director of Bands
  • Sarah Russell – Assistant Professor, Theatre
  • Kelly Schwendiman – Clinical Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Jennifer Sensor – Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy
  • Karen Towne – Clinical Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Joshua Twiddy – Assistant Men’s Basketball Coach


10 Years

  • Tracy Benning – Housekeeper
  • Lynette Bucasso – Housekeeper
  • Jeffrey Buth – Associate Professor, Chemistry
  • Micah Butler – Maintenance/Carpenter
  • Joel Evans – Assistant Professor of Marketing
  • Daryl Ely – Assistant Football Coach
  • Anson Gross ­– Grounds Supervisor
  • Lisa Johnson – Assistant University Registrar
  • Kevin Kern – Associate Professor, Theatre
  • Bertrand Landry – Associate Professor, French
  • Philip LaScola – Associate Professor, Biology
  • Mary Procario – Housekeeper
  • Abby Schroeder – Director, Regula Center Public Service and Civic Engagement
  • Hans Tritico – Associate Professor, Civil Engineering
  • Robert Woodward – Associate Professor, Chemistry
  • Vanessa Worley – Associate Professor, Physician Assistant Studies
  • Diane Yarnell – Scheduling Manager


15 Years

  • Justin Baum – Electrician
  • Adelina Cooper – Associate Professor, Communication
  • John Frazier – Vice President of Student Affairs, Dean of Students
  • Mandy Capel – Professor, Education
  • Xiaoshu Han – Associate Professor, Economics
  • Nicole Johnson – Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Mark McConnell – Associate Professor, Marketing
  • Eric Mojock – Head Swimming and Diving Coach
  • Ruth Pogacnik – Associate Professor, Accounting
  • Christine Pontius – Administrative Assistant, Nursing
  • Cathy Royer – Senior Administrative Systems Analyst
  • David Thiele – Professor, English; Honors Program Director
  • Liana Yoder – Payroll Assistant


20 Years

  • Walter Antram – Plumber
  • Michael Greiner – Nature Center Site Manager
  • Crystal Johnson – Manager of Advancement Services and Research
  • Patricia Kuhn – Executive Assistant, University Advancment
  • Karen Ruthrauff – Housekeeper


25 Years

  • Elaine Anderson – Professor, Music
  • Diana Bondoni – Administrative Assistant, Physical Plant
  • Paul Tidman – Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies


30 Years

  • Jamie Capuzza – Professor, Communication
  • Steven Cederbloom – Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy